National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

The 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program, conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation(NMSC), is an annual academic competition to recognize and honor the academically talented students of the United States. Students are chosen based on PSAT/NMSQT selection index scores.  Approximately 16,000 of the high scorers, representing less than 1 percent of the nation’s high school graduating seniors, qualify as semifinalists.  These students have the opportunity to advance in the competition for some 7,600 merit scholarship awards.  The following VHS students qualify as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:  Mary Biggs, Shannon McCall, Calvin McMurtrey, William Miltenberger, Sydney Vorrier, Samantha Winland, and Henry Youngren.  We are so proud of you all!